One of the fun quirks of Nostr is that you never have any real proof a user has actually left, even if their account says itβs been βdeleted.β Some clients will ban npubs with a delete flag from using them again, but thereβs a fairly reliable way to reverse that. And as long as the nsec isnβt lost, someone can just lurk.
For example,
@Deleted isnβt really deleted, because the profile has no deletion event, and even though the last visible post is from over a month ago, the user just updated their kind 0 profile metadata less than two days ago.
What this user didnβt realize is that they only changed the "display_name" field to βDeletedβ and not the alternate "displayName" field that was left behind by another client, so itβs trivially easy figure out who it is.
We see you, friend, π
